Top web design for awards page

Awards and Recognitions



Professor Bassam Bamieh

  • IEEE Control Systems Society G.H. Axelby Outstanding Paper Award, 2004
  • IEEE Control Systems Society Distinguished Lecturer
  • Plenary Speaker, 23rd Benelux Meeting on Systems and Control, March 2004
  • Invited speaker, US National Academy of Sciences Symposium on Frontiers of Science and Technology in the Middle East, Sept. 2003
  • Special invited presentation, 2001 IEEE Conference on Decision and Control, "Distributed Systems and Distributed Control"
  • American Automatic Control Council Hugo Schuck Best Paper Award, 2000
  • National Science Foundation CAREER Award, 1996
  • National Science Foundation Research Initiation Award, 1993

Professor Francesco Bullo

  • IEEE Fellow, 2010.
  • IEEE Control Systems Magazine Outstanding Paper Award, 2008.
  • Plenary Speaker, 9th Workshop on Hybrid Systems: Computation and Control (HSCC), Santa Barbara, Mar 2006
  • Best Student Paper Award Winner (as advisor): ACC 2006
  • Plenary Speaker, 25th Benelux Meeting on Systems and Control, The Netherlands, Mar 2006
  • Plenary Speaker, Workshop on Networked Embedded Sensing and Control, South Bend, IN, Oct. 2005
  • Best Student Paper Award Finalist (as advisor), ACC 2005, Portland, OR
  • SemiPlenary Speaker, MTNS, Leuven, Belgium, July 2004
  • Plenary Speaker,2nd IFAC Workshop on Lagrangian and Hamiltonian Methods in Nonlinear Control, Sevilla, Spain, April 2003
  • Young Investigator Award, Office of Naval Research, 2003
  • Best Student Paper Award Winner (as advisor), IEEE Conf. Decision and Control, Las Vegas, NV, Dec. 2002
  • Best Student Paper Award Finalist (as advisor), IEEE Conf. Robotics and Automation, Arlington, VA, May 2002

Professor Frank Doyle

  • AIChE Computing in Chemical Engineering Award, 2005
  • Alexander von Humboldt Research Fellow, 2001-2002
  • Defense Science Study Group, 2001-2002
  • ASEE/Ray Fahien Award, 2000
  • Office of Naval Research Young Investigator Award, 1996
  • National Science Foundation National Young Investigator Award, 1992

Professor Frederic Gibou

  • Sloan Research Fellowship in Mathematics, 2006
  • Regent¹s Junior Faculty Fellowship
  • NSF Mathematical Sciences Postdoctoral Fellowship
  • The Robert Sorgenfrey Distinguished Teaching Award

Professor Joaõ Hespanha

  • IEEE Control Systems Society G.H. Axelby Outstanding Paper Award, 2006
  • 2005 Automatica Theory/Methodology best paper prize. This prize is awarded once every three years by the International Federation of Automatic Control to the best theory/methodology paper published in the previous three years in the journal Automatica.
  • Best paper award at the 2nd Int. Conf. on Intelligent Sensing and Information Processing, 2005
  • NSF's Faculty Early Career Development (CAREER) award, 2001
  • Yale University's Henry Prentiss Becton Graduate Prize for exceptional achievement in research in Engineering and Applied Science, 1999

Professor Mustafa Khammash

  • IEEE Fellow, 2007
  • ECE Distinguished Lecturer, Michigan State University, 2007
  • Semi-Plenary Lecturer, MTNS, Kobe, Japan, 2006
  • Plenary Lecturer, International Symposium on Control, Communication, and Signal Processing, 2004
  • Japan Society for the Promotion of Science (JSPS) Fellow, 2003
  • Young Engineering Faculty Research Award, Iowa State University, 1999
  • Early Achievement in Research and Scholarship Award, Iowa State University Foundation,1995
  • National Young Investigator Award (NYI), National Science Foundation,1994
  • 1990 Ralph Budd Best Engineering Ph.D. Thesis Award, Rice University, Houston, Texas, 1990

Professor Petar Kokotovic

  • Richard E. Bellman Control Heritage Award, American Automatic Control Council, 2002
  • James H. Mulligan, Jr. Educational Medal, IEEE, 2001
  • Member, National Academy of Engineering, 1996
  • The 1995 IEEE Control Systems Award
  • The 1993 IEEE Outstanding Transactions Paper Award
  • Foreign Expert to Evaluate French National Institute (INRIA), 1992
  • IEEE Bode Prize Lecture, 1991
  • Quazza Medal, Highest Triennial Award, International Federation of Automatic Control, 1990
  • Grainger Endowed Chair, University of Illinois, Urbana, 1990
  • D.C. Drucker Eminent Faculty Award, University of Illinois, Urbana, 1987
  • Outstanding Paper Award, IEEE Transactions on Automatic Control, 1984
  • Lecturer at the French National Seminar (CNRS) on "New Tools for Control," Paris, 1982
  • Foreign expert to evaluate West German's Institute for Flight Dynamics, 1980
  • Fellow of the IEEE, 1980

Professor Igor Mezic

  • Invited Plenary Lecturer, SIAM Control Theory Meeting, New Orleans, 2005
  • Invited Plenary Lecturer, Dynamics Days Europe, Palma de Mallorca, Spain, 2003
  • Axelby Outstanding Paper Award (IEEE Transactions on Automatic Control) for the paper on ”Control of Mixing: a Maximum Entropy Approach”, 2000
  • National Science Foundation CAREER Award for research on ”Nonlinear Dynamics and Control from Microscale to Macroscale”, 1999
  • Sloan Fellowship in Mathematics, 1999

Professor Jeffrey Moehlis

  • National Science Foundation CAREER Award, 2006
  • Alfred P. Sloan Research Fellowship in Mathematics, 2005
  • Bernard Friedman Memorial Prize in Applied Mathematics for Outstanding Doctoral Dissertation, UC Berkeley, 2000

Professor Linda Petzold

  • National Academy of Engineering
  • SIAM Dahlquist Prize
  • AWM/SIAM Sonia Kovalevsky Prize
  • Wilkinson Prize for Numerical Software

Professor Mihai Putinar

  • Natural Science Research Council Grants, Sweden, 1996, 2000
  • Alexander von Humboldt Fellowship, Germany, 1991
  • International Mathematical Union Grant, 1990
  • Simion Stoilow Prize of the Romanian Academy, 1987
  • First Prize at the Student Balkaniad of Mathematics, Belgrade, Yugoslavia, 1977

Professor Dale Seborg

  • Engineering Student Council Teaching Award/ for the Dept. of Chemical Engineering, UCSB, 2004
  • 1994 Statistics in Chemistry Award/, American Statistical Association (shared with W.E. Larimore, A. Kemna, C.D. Schaper and D.A. Mellichamp)
  • 1993 Education Award/, American Automatic Control Council
  • 1992 Tau Beta Pi Teaching Award/ for the Dept. of Chemical and Nuclear Engineering, UCSB
  • 1990 Meriam-Wiley Distinguished Author Award/, American Society of Engineering Education (shared with T.F. Edgar and D.A. Mellichamp)
  • 1980 Technical Achievement Award/, Southern California Section of the American Institute of Chemical Engineers
  • 1973 Best Paper Award/, 1973 Joint Automatic Control Conference, Columbus, OH (shared with R.G. Wilson and D.G. Fisher)

Professor Roy Smith

  • 1993 National Science Foundation Research Initiation Award
  • 1992 NASA Certificate of Recognition

Professor Andy Teel

  • Plenary Speaker, 26th Chinese Control Conference, Zhangjiajie Hunan, 2007
  • Plenary Speaker, 6th IFAC Nonlinear Control Systems Design Symposium, Stuttgart, 2004
  • Plenary Speaker, The 5th Asian Control Conference, Melbourne, 2004
  • Plenary Speaker, LSU Conference on Mathematical Control Theory, Baton Rouge, 2003
  • IEEE Fellow, 2002
  • American Automatic Control Council O. Hugo Schuck Best Paper Award, 2001
  • IEEE Conference on Decision and Control Student Best Paper Award (as advisor), 2000
  • Plenary Speaker, American Control Conference, Chicago, 2000
  • American Automatic Control Council Donald P. Eckman Award, 1999
  • Plenary Speaker, 4th IFAC Nonlinear Control Systems Design Symposium, Enschede, 1998
  • Plenary Speaker, 4th SIAM Conference on Control and Its Applications, Jacksonville, 1998
  • IEEE CSS George S. Axelby Outstanding Paper Award, 1998
  • IEEE Leon K. Kirchmayer Prize Paper Award, 1998
  • SIAM Control and Systems Theory Prize, 1998
  • UCSB ECE Department Teaching Excellence Award 1998-1999
  • Semi-plenary Speaker, Conference on Mathematical Theory of Networks and Systems, St. Louis, 1996
  • NSF Career Award, 1995

top of page