Awards and Honors

Nobel Prize

National Science & Technology Medals

Organization Fellows

National Academy of Engineering (NAE)

American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS)

Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE)



IEEE Society

Photonics Society (IPS)

Electron Devices Society (EDS)

Microwave Theory and Techniques Society (MTT-S)

Education Society Awards

Control Systems Society (CSS)

Computer Society

Signal Processing Society (SPS)

Circuits and Systems Society (CAS)

Optical Society of America (OSA)

American Physical Society (APS)

International Federation of Automatic Control (IFAC)

American Automatic Control Council (AACC)

Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics (SIAM)

Acoustical Society of America (ASA)

University of California Systemwide

  • Outstanding Faculty Leadership in Presidential Initiatives
    David Auston1 (2015)

UCSB Academic Senate Awards

  • Distinguished Teaching Award
    Glen Wade3 (1978)
    John Skalnik3 (1986)
    Hua Lee (1988)
    Roger Wood3 (1989)
    Nadir Dagli (1990)
    John Shynk1 (1992)
    Alan Laub1 (1993)
    Evelyn Hu1 (1999)
    Steve Butner1 (2007)

Early Career Awards

  • Young Investigator Awards
    Hua Lee – NSF / PYI (1985)
    John Bowers – NSF / PYI (1988)
    Mark Rodwell – NSF / PYI (1989)
    Umesh Mishra – NSF / PYI (1989)
    Steven DenBaars – NSF / NYI (1994)
    Bob York – ONR (1996)
  • National Science Foundation (NSF) – Faculty Early CAREER Development Award
    Louise Moser1 (1990)
    Andrew Teel (1995)
    Bob York (1995)
    U. Madhow (1996)
    Shiv Chandrasekaran (1998)
    Atac Imamoglu2 (1995)
    Joao Hespanha (2001)
    Edward Chang2 (2002)
    Volkan Rodoplu2 (2007)
    Yuan Xie (2006)
    Yasamin Mostofi (2009)
    Pradeep Sen (2009)
    Luke Theogarajan (2011)
    James K. Buckwalter (2011)
    Katie Byl (2013)
    Jason Marden (2014)
    John Schuller (2015)
    Yon Visell (2018)
  • NSF Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE)
    Dan Blumenthal (1999)
    Yasamin Mostofi (2011)

Research Awards

Teaching Awards

  • Northrop Grumman Excellence in Teaching Award
    Luke Theogarajan (co-recipient – 2011)
    Michael Liebling (co-recipient – 2014)


Other Awards and Recognitions

1 Emeritus

2 No Longer at UC Santa Barbara

3 Deceased