"The 63rd Annual UCSB Faculty Research Lecture: ECE Professor Umesh K. Mishra – ‘Thank God for Gallium Nitride!’"

Umesh K. Mishra, ECE Professor, UCSB

November 26th (Monday), 5:15pm
4:00 PM Reception | 5:15 PM Lecture
Corwin Pavilion, University Center | UC Santa Barbara

Mishra selected as UCSB’s 2018 Faculty Research Lecturer – the highest honor bestowed upon UCSB professors by their peers and recognizes extraordinary scholarly distinction

“Thank God for Gallium Nitride!”

Ever since the development of the blue LED and white LEDs by Nobel Laureate Shuji Nakamura, the excitement about the possibilities that Gallium Nitride (GaN) offers has been relentless and exhilarating. The applications have spread beyond general lighting to lasers to horticulture to now electronics. Hybrid and electric vehicles, data servers, solar inverters, robotics, gaming, and communications across a large band of interests are all being served by GaN.

Gallium Nitride is truly the material that keeps on giving.

The UCSB Current (Nov. 15, 2018): “GaN Rising” – UCSB ECE Professor Umesh Mishra to deliver the 2018 Faculty Research Lecture

About Umesh K. Mishra:

photo of umesh mishra Mishra, the Donald W. Whittier Professor in Electrical Engineering, joined the UCSB faculty in 1990. He received his Ph.D. in EE from Cornell University and is an author of more than 800 publications, with more than 44,000 citations. In addition to his research and teaching, Mishra is a founder of two technology companies, Nitres and Transphorm, the former acquired by energy-efficient lighting technology company CREE, the latter continuing to deliver high-performance GaN devices. A partial list of Mishra’s awards include the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers’ (IEEE) 2007 David Sarnoff Award, the 2007 International Symposium on Compound Semiconductors (ISCS) Quantum Device Award and the 2012 ISCS Heinrich Welker Award. Mishra also is an IEEE Fellow and a member of the National Academy of Engineering and the National Academy of Inventors.

Hosted by: UC, Santa Barbara Academic Senate