Centers, Institutes & Facilities

Research centers, institutes and facilities with ECE department and faculty affiliations


California Nanosystems Institute (CNSI)

A research collaboration between UC Santa Barbara and UC Los Angeles which facilitates a multidisciplinary approach to develop the nanoscience technologies that will dominate science and economy in the 21st century.

Affiliated ECE Faculty: K. Banerjee, Blumenthal, Bowers, Brewer, Coldren, Denbaars, Gossard, Kroemer, Mishra, Palmstrøm, Petroff, Schuller, Strukov, Theogarajan, Xie, York, Visell

Institute for Collaborative Biotechnologies (ICB)

A uniquely interdisciplinary, powerful alliance of academia, industry and the Army. Led by the University of California, Santa Barbara, in collaboration with MIT, Caltech, the Army and Industry partners, the ICB transforms biological inspiration into technological innovation.

Affiliated ECE Faculty: Byl, Hespanha, Madhow, Manjunath

Institute for Energy Efficiency (IEE)

Is dedicated to researching and developing solutions to change how energy is produced, used, and managed. It is comprised of solution groups that target critical energy issues (lighting, production & storage, buildings & design, computing, electronics & photonics, economics & policy).

Affiliated ECE Faculty: Executive Director - David Auston, Director - John Bowers, K. Banerjee, Blumenthal, Brewer, Cheng, Coldren, Denbaars, Gossard, Hespanha, Madhow, Marek-Sadowska, Mishra, Petroff, Rodwell, Schuller, Strukov, Theogarajan

aim logo

American Institute for Manufacturing of Photonics (AIM)

Focuses on the United States premiere capabilities and expertise to capture critical global manufacturing leadership in a technology that is both essential to National security and positioned to provide a compelling return-on-investment to the U.S. economy.

Affiliated ECE Faculty: Deputy Chief Executive Officer - John Bowers and Government and Industry Outreach Executive - Rod Alferness, Blumenthal, Cheng, Coldren, Dagli, Klamkin, Rodwell, Schow, Theogarajan, Xie


Nanotech: UCSB Nanofabrication Facility (NNIN)

Nanotech supports nanofabrication research by providing tools and training for academic institutions, industries, and government agencies. The facility features 12,700 square feet of clean room space to do research using state-of-the-art equipment and offers a wide-range of capabilities.

Affiliated ECE Faculty: Director - Mark Rodwell


Center for Bio-Image Informatics

An interdisciplinary research effort between Biology, Computer Science, Statistics, Multimedia and Engineering. The overarching goal of the center is the advancement of human knowledge of the complex biological processes that occur at both cellular and sub-cellular levels.

Affiliated ECE Faculty: Director - B.S. Manjunath, Busetto, Liebling, Rose

Center for Energy Efficiency Materials (CEEM)

CEEM is an Energy Frontier Research Center funded by the US Department of Energy. It is a cross-disciplinary multi-institution program directed at energy challenges in four key focus areas of science and engineering: photovoltaics, thermoelectrics, solid-state lighting, and energy storage.

Affiliated ECE Faculty: Executive Director - David Auston, Director - John Bowers, Denbaars, Gossard, Mishra, Palmstrøm, Schuller

Center for Control Dynamical System, and Computation (CCDC)

Brings together faculty, students, and visitors affiliated with various departments across the UC Santa Barbara campus. The Center facilitates cooperation in control engineering, dynamical systems, and computation and their various interdisciplinary applications.

Affiliated ECE Faculty: Director - Andrew Teel, Busetto, Byl, Chandrasekaran, Hespanha, Kokotovic, Madhow, Manjunath, Marden, Mostofi

Greenscale Center for Energy-Efficient Computing

The center's goal is to leverage key strengths in CS, EE, ME, and environment sciences at UCSB to face the millennium's energy challenges. Designing tomorrow's computing systems requires an effort to drive energy-efficient technologies in computing, electronics, and building systems.

Affiliated ECE Faculty: Banerjee, Brewer, Cheng, Hespanha, Marek-Sadowska

Optoelectronics Technology Center (OTC)

Facilitates fundamental advances in photonics and optoelectronics. The general goals have been to advance the state-of-the-art in chip-to-chip optical interconnects, optical fiber communications, and biosensor and to encourage collaboration between academia and the U.S. industry.

Affiliated ECE Faculty: Director - Larry Coldren, Bowers, Rodwell

Solid State Lighting & Energy Electronics Center (SSLEEC)

The focus is on new semiconductor based technologies for energy efficient lighting and displays, power electronics, and solar energy conversion. Its objective is to provide a forum for its members to work in collaboration and across disciplines to address challenging problems in research.

Affiliated ECE Faculty: Co-Director - Steven DenBaars, Bowers, Coldren, Kroemer, Mishra

Terabit Optical Ethernet Center (TOEC)

TOEC’s goal is to be a multidisciplinary center of excellence for technologies to enable the future generations of optical Ethernet transport, switching and communications. It aims to lead the way in establishing a new roadmap for multi-Terabit-per-second Optical Ethernet and create new energy efficient photonic integrated technologies.

Affiliated ECE Faculty: Director - Daniel Blumenthal, Bowers, Coldren, Dagli, Rodwell