ECE Newsletter Fall 2017 cover

The ECE Current Newsletter – Fall 2017 (pdf)

Table of Contents

Letter from Nadir Dagli, ECE Chair: the new academic year brings — leadership changes, faculty retirements, new faculty recruits; department national and international rankings
In Memoriam: John Skalnik, ECE Professor Emeritus — former department Chair and faculty member for 21 years
New Faculty: Mahnoosh Alizadeh (Ph.D. UC Davis), Ramtin Pedarsani (Ph.D. UC Berkeley) and Zheng Zhang (Ph.D. MIT) and Lecturers — Ilan Ben-Yaacov (Ph.D. UCSB) and Yoga Isukapalli (Ph.D. UCSD)
Retiring Faculty: Tim Cheng, Larry Coldren, Margaret Marek-Sadowska, Larry Rabiner and John Shynk
Spotlights: Interview with ECE alum Sun Choe, President, Norcomp SC; Faculty Mentorship — Professor Jason Marden; and Student Spotlight — Q&A with Carlos Torres and an article on his research Multimodal Eye-CU Sensor Network for Healthcare (MESH)
Research: ECE Research Initiative — Professor Kenneth Rose, Signal Compression Lab (SCL)
Recognitions: Faculty — K. Banerjee, J. Bowers, L. Coldren, J. Hespanha, U. Mishra, Y. Mostofi, S. Mitra, D. Strukov, A. Teel, Y. Visell, H. Lee, L. Theogarajan, F. Brewer; Students — Herbert Kroemer Fellowship (A. McFadden), Roger Wood Award (P. Chomsinsap and R. Hwang – EE and Y. Ramesh – CE); Outstanding TA (V. Radzicki – EE and J. Cryan – CE); 2017 EE & CE Capstone Winners; and 2016-17 ECE Donors