"Integrated photonics in the future: Silicon, plasmonics or something else?"

Lars Thylen, Royal Institute of Technology, Stockholm, Sweden

March 15th (Tuesday), 10:30am
Engineering Science Building (ESB), Rm 1001

The possibilities for an “electronics like” development of integrated photonics according to Moore’s law are discussed with reference to the different materials and device technologies at hand. Emphasis will be on plasmonics and its prospects, such as limits to scaling of plasmonics based integrated photonics circuits. Other materials are also discussed, giving several examples of integrated photonics devices with reduced footprint and power dissipation and enhanced functionality.

About Lars Thylen:

Lars Thylen is professor at the Department of Microwave Engineering, Royal Institute of Technology, Stockholm since 1987. Before that he was at Ericsson, heading a group doing research in the area of integrated photonics in lithium niobate and semiconductors and its applications to optical communications and switching. He was a co-founder of Optillion AB, a startup in the area of 10 Gb/s+ Ethernet transceivers, and is a co-founder and board member of PhoXtal Communications AB, a transceiver company. He is CEO of a Chinese start up, Fuyang Photonics, a consulting company. Current research interests include nanophotonics, high density integrated photonics, devices for photonic switching and high speed modulation, quantum optics as well as the physics involved in electronic and photonic switching operations. Prof Thylén has authored or co-authored more than 200 journal papers and conference contributions as well as several book chapters and has been granted approximately 20 patents. He has served on program committees for major optics conferences such as European Conference on Optical Communications, ECOC, and Optical Fiber Communications, OFC, and on a large number of OSA and IEEE conferences. Prof Thylen is a member of the Optical Society of America and of the IEEE as well as a member of the Royal Swedish Academy of Engineering Sciences.

Hosted by: Professor Nadir Dagli