"Time Dependent Dielectric Breakdown Physics — Models Revisited"

Joe McPherson, IEEE Fellow, Texas Instruments Senior Fellow Emeritus

August 17th (Friday), 11:00am
Harold Frank Hall, Room 4164 (ECE Conference Room)

Time dependent dielectric breakdown (TDDB) models for silica(SiO2)-based dielectrics are revisited so as to better understand the ability of each model to explain quantitatively the generally accepted TDDB observations. Molecular dielectric degradation models, which lead to percolation path generation and eventual TDDB failure, tend to fall into three broad categories: field-based models, current-based models, and complementary combinations of field and current-based models. A complementary combination of field-induced polar-bond stretching and current-induced bond-catalysis seems to be required, at the molecular level, to explain the generally accepted TDDB observations. Thus, TDDB modeling is not simply the use of field or current — but both. Complementary combinations of field and current are required to fully explain the generally accepted TDDB observations.

About Joe McPherson:

Dr. J.W. McPherson is recognized internationally as an expert in Reliability Physics & Engineering. He has published over 200 papers, authored the Reliability Chapters for 4 Books, awarded 14 patents, and holds the title as Texas Instruments Senior Fellow Emeritus. He was the 1995 General Chairman of the IEEE International Reliability Physics Symposium and still serves on its Board of Directors. In 2004, Joe received the IEEE Engineer of the Year Award from the Texas Society of Professional Engineers. In 2006, he was the Chairman of the Sematech Reliability Council. Joe is an IEEE Fellow and the Founder and CEO of McPherson Reliability Consulting, LLC. His semiconductor reliability expertise includes: device-physics, wafer-fabrication and assembly-related issues. Several of the reliability models that are used today in the semiconductor industry are closely associated with his name. Most recently Dr. McPherson authored a textbook: Reliability Physics and Engineering, Springer Publishing, 2010.

Hosted by: Professor Kaustav Banerjee