Jul 29 (Fri) @ 2:00pm: "Research into MMW System Applications at Nat'l Taiwan U.," Huei Wang, Prof., EE, NTU

Date and Time
Engineering Science Building (ESB), Room 1001


In this presentation, the recent research into microwave and millimeter-wave (MMW) system applications at National Taiwan University (NTU) will be described. Based on our development of III-V and silicon-based monolithic microwave/MMW integrated MMICs, several applications have been conducted. Our MMICs supported a couple of radio telescope systems, namely, Array for Microwave Background Anisotropy (AMiBA), and Atacama Large Millimeter Array (ALMA) systems. A pair of CMOS based 38-GHz transmit/receive chips, together with GaAs pHEMT LNA and PA, have also been developed to support the 38-GHz 5-G RF front end system, and the electronic beam steering function was successfully demonstrated using a pair of 32-element Tx/Rx phased arrays. he similar 38-GHz transmit/receive chips have modified for an application on the drone to transmit the 8K/4K video in real time for wild animal monitoring. Another developed microwave system is a harmonic radar for the tracking of bees in order to help entomologists to identify the cause of colony collapse disorder (CCD) of the bees. Brief descriptions of each system and application will be presented, along with the microwave/MMW circuit development at NTU.


Huei Wang (S’83-M’87-SM’95-F’06) is a member of the honor society Phi Kappa Phi and Tau Beta Pi. He received the Distinguished Research Award of National Science Council, Taiwan, at 2003. He was the Richard M. Hong Endowed Chair Professor of National Taiwan University in 2005-2007. He was elected as an IEEE Fellow in 2006, and has been appointed as an IEEE Distinguished Microwave Lecturer for the term of 2007-2009. Dr. Wang received the Academic Achievement Award from Ministry of Education, Taiwan, in 2007, and the Distinguished Research Award from Pan Wen-Yuan’s Foundation in 2008. He has been Life National Chair Professor of Ministry of Education, ROC since 2013. &He also has been appointed as the NTU Chair Professor from 2016.

Hosted by: Professor James Buckwalter

Submitted by: James Buckwalter <buckwalter@ucsb.edu>