ECE and Materials Professor Steve Denbaars named Fellow of the National Academy of Inventors

January 2nd, 2014

photo of steve denbaars
UCSB College of Engineering professors Steven DenBaars (ECE & Materials) and Samir Mitragotri (ChemE) recognized by the NAI for their “highly prolific spirit of innovation.” Denbaars and Mitragotri are the first among UCSB’s faculty to be elected to the rank of Fellow in the NAI.

“It is a great honor to be recognized for my inventions by NAI, and to have my research supported by UCSB for over 20 years,” said DenBaars, professor of materials and of electrical and computer engineering at UCSB. DenBaars is the co-director of the Solid State Lighting and Energy Center and holder of the Mitsubishi Chemical Chair in Solid State Lighting and Displays at UCSB.

DenBaars’ research focuses on electronic materials growth and semiconductor devices, particularly in the realm of compound semiconductors such as indium phosphide and gallium nitride (GaN). He holds more than 165 patents, with several more pending on GaN growth and processing. Recently, he was part of a team that determined the optimal structure for phosphors (a key component in LED lighting), a breakthrough that can lead to brighter and more efficient LED lights.

Induction into the NAI is the latest of several honors Denbaars has received over the course of his career. DenBaars is a Fellow of the prestigious National Academy of Engineering (NAE) and the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), and was the recipient of the Aron Kressel award from the IEEE Photonics Society. DenBaars earned his Ph.D. in electrical engineering from the University of Southern California.

DenBaars and Mitragotri will be inducted into the Academy at a ceremony in March 2014 in Alexandria, Va., at the USPTO headquarters.

UCSB "The Current" News (full news release)

NAI - 2013 Fellows (full news release)

Denbaars' Bio and Research