Palmstrom – AAAS Fellow

ECE and Materials Professor Chris Palmstrom elected to the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS)

photo of chris palmstrom

Excerpt from The UCSB Current article "‘Truly Impactful’ Research"

Molecular beam epitaxy. Climate sensing. Neural circuits. Active matter. Multimedia learning. Five UC Santa Barbara professors in disciplines spanning geology to biology, physics to psychology have been selected as this year’s newest fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS).

The new fellows are: materials scientist Chris Palmstrøm; geography professor Dar Roberts; biology professor Julie Simpson; physics theorist Mark Bowick; and Richard Mayer, a professor of psychological and brain sciences. Election as an AAAS Fellow is an honor bestowed upon AAAS members by their peers for their scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications.

“Congratulations to Professor Chris Palmstrøm on his election to the prestigious American Association for the Advancement of Science, one of the pinnacles of the profession. His indispensable expertise in using molecular beam epitaxy to control the growth and the interface structure and chemistry of dissimilar materials has led to the creation of many novel materials having new and useful properties,” said Tresa Pollock, interim dean of the UCSB College of Engineering. “It is wonderful to see Chris be recognized for contributions that are important because they are truly impactful.”

“Integration of materials with different properties, such as semiconducting, superconducting and magnetic capabilities, allow the creation of designer materials and structures with novel functions and applications such as in quantum computing,” said Christopher Palmstrøm, Distinguished Professor in the electrical and computer engineering and in the materials departments at UCSB’s College of Engineering. With his expertise in molecular beam epitaxy, a method of “growing” materials in a highly controlled, atom-by-atom manner, his lab generates novel materials for making new, specialized and next-generation devices.

AAAS Fellows are a distinguished cadre of scientists, engineers and innovators who have been recognized for their achievements across disciplines, from research, teaching, and technology, to administration in academia, industry and government, to excellence in communicating and interpreting science to the public. New fellows receive a certificate and a gold and blue rosette pin to commemorate their election and will be celebrated in Washington, D.C. in the summer. They will also be featured in the AAAS News & Notes section of Science in February 2023.

The UCSB Current "Truly Impactful’ Research" (full article)

COE News – "Chris Palmstrøm Named AAAS Fellow" (additional article)