ECE Professor Kaustav Banerjee named a 2016 American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) Fellow

November 21st, 2016

photo of kaustav banerjee
Three UCSB faculty members named 2016 AAAS Fellows – an engineer (Banerjee), a computer scientist (Divyakant Agrawal) and a biologist (Kathleen Foltz) are among the newest members of the prestigious organization. Election as an AAAS Fellow is an honor bestowed upon AAAS members by their peers. The UCSB professors join 388 other newly elected members to AAAS for 2016.

“It is a special honor to congratulate three of our colleagues on their election to the American Association for the Advancement of Science,” said UCSB Chancellor Henry T. Yang. “Professors Agrawal, Banerjee, and Foltz join the ranks of distinguished fellows at one of the world’s foremost scientific societies — one with a strong tradition of promoting collaboration, defending scientific freedom, encouraging scientific responsibility and supporting scientific education.”

“This prestigious honor highlights their pioneering contributions, as recognized by peers in the same fields. We are immensely proud and honored to have them as scientific leaders and colleagues on our campus.”

ECE Professor Kaustav Banerjee was recognized in AAAS’s section on engineering “for distinguished contributions to nanoelectronics, particularly for pioneering devices and interconnects with nanomaterials, and innovating circuit and chip design concepts, all advancing toward ultra-energy-efficient electronics.”

The director of UCSB’s Nanoelectronics Research Lab, Banerjee’s research interests include nanometer-scale issues in complementary metal-oxide-semiconductor very large-scale integrated circuits as well as emerging nanotechnology. A fellow of the American Physical Society and the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), he is the recipient of the IEEE Kiyo Tomiyasu Award and the Friedrich Wilhelm Bessel Research Award from the Humboldt Foundation. Banerjee is also affiliated with the California Nanosystems Institute and the Institute for Energy Efficiency at UCSB.

Banerjee, Agrawal and Foltz will be presented with official certificates and gold and blue (representing science and engineering, respectively) rosette pins on Saturday, February 18, during the 2017 AAAS Annual Meeting in Boston, Mass.

The UCSB Current – “A Trio of AAAS Fellows” (full article)

AAAS – “2016 AAAS Fellows Honored for Advancing Science to Serve Society”

Nanoelectronics Research Lab (NRL)

Banerjee's CoE Profile